XDarwin and window managers..

Everything else.

XDarwin and window managers..

Postby cliff » Sun Sep 02, 2001 4:26 am

Well, XDarwin running with windowmaker was having a few problems (application menu wasnt working very well), so I used pkg remove to remove windowmaker. I guess that wasnt the smartest thing to try since now XDarwin won't start in even the simplest way.
I'm guessing i left some XDarwin config files that still point to some non existent windowmaker files, but then again I'm very new to this so any help would be appreciated.
-lj
cliff

Re: XDarwin and window managers..

Postby cliff » Sun Sep 02, 2001 6:36 am

Here's the console output:

Fatal server error:
failed to initialize core devices
OsVendorFatalError
AbortDDX
Quitting XDarwin...
-lj
cliff

Postby apex » Sun Sep 02, 2001 3:26 pm

edit your ~/.xinitrc file. Remove references to windowmaker such as:
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">code:</font><HR><pre>exec wmaker</pre>[/quote]

I looked at all the files pkg-remove would delete if I removed windowmaker and none of them are related to anything but windowmaker or used by any other applications.
apex

Postby cliff » Mon Sep 03, 2001 3:03 am

Is there any way lesstif could have changed anything in a negative way? .xinitrc is just:
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">code:</font><HR><pre>
# Window Maker default X session startup script

PATH="$PATH:/bin"

# If you login from xdm, uncomment this to make error messages appear
# in the console window.
#
# tail -f /var/root/.xsession-errors > /dev/console &

</pre>[/quote]

I just found out lesstif left a directory behind, /usr/local/Lesstif, even though i did a pkg remove of it.

Also, I can start x from /usr/x11r6/bin/x -quartz and it just gives me a grey screen.